[Overseas] Anime News & Announcements

NormanicGrav

(゜ロ゜)
AUKN Staff


Funimation has revealed their September 2020 slate, we have some interesting titles listed.

1st September:
Africa Salaryman: Complete Series Blu-ray - $64.98
ARIFURETA: From Commonplace to World's Strongest: Season 1 Collection Blu-ray & DVD - $64.98 - Includes OVAs
ARIFURETA: From Commonplace to World's Strongest: Season 1 Collection (Limited Edition) Blu-ray & DVD - $84.98
A Certain Scientific Accelerator: Complete Series Blu-ray & DVD - $64.98 - Includes OVA
Nichijou: My Ordinary Life: Complete Series (Essentials) Blu-ray - $34.98
RADIANT: Season 2 Part 1 Blu-ray & DVD - $64.98

8th September:
Sakura Quest: Complete Series (Essentials) Blu-ray - $34.98

15th September:
Cowboy Bebop: Complete Series (Steelbook) Blu-ray - $59.98

22nd September:
Fairy Gone: Part 2 Blu-ray - $64.98
HANEBADO!: Complete Series (Essentials) Blu-ray - $29.98
Hinamatsuri: Complete Series (Essentials) Blu-ray - $29.98
My Hero Academia: Season 2 Collection Blu-ray - $69.98

29th September:
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba: Part 1 Blu-ray - $64.98
Fire Force: Season 1 Part 2 Blu-ray & DVD - $64.98
Fire Force: Season 1 Part 2 (Limited Edition) Blu-ray & DVD - $84.98
Free! Dive to the Future: Complete Series (Essentials) Blu-ray - $29.98
Kemono Michi: Rise Up!: Complete Series Blu-ray - $64.98
 

Oldmario

Great Teacher
guess we should be expecting some Nichijou and Hinamatsuri announcement from Manga soon, also pretty surprised that Africa Salaryman is getting a blu-ray release
 

ActionFaust

Pokémon Master
guess we should be expecting some Nichijou and Hinamatsuri announcement from Manga soon, also pretty surprised that Africa Salaryman is getting a blu-ray release
One of their representatives said they'll likely announce Q4 mid July. Would expect to see Kemono Michi and Arifureta getting a release tbh
 

Takei Daloui

Dandy Guy, in Space
Accelerator is cool to see there.
Hanebado is a bit of a surprise, though it says an essentials one. What exactly are those in comparison to the originals?
 

NormanicGrav

(゜ロ゜)
AUKN Staff
Accelerator is cool to see there.
Hanebado is a bit of a surprise, though it says an essentials one. What exactly are those in comparison to the originals?
Classics and Essentials are re-releases that use the same Blu-ray discs and similar artwork, but has a lower retail price, omits the slipcovers, and omits the DVD discs (unless it has exclusive extras like Fruits Basket did).

It's good for saving shelf-space and owning releases at a lower budget.
 

Relaxo

School Idol
All Classics & Essentials releases include digital codes for Funimation.com - even if the regular releases didn't (which was the case with most releases until 2018)
 

BlackCondor93

Adventurer
I'm not sure if this was mentioned on this forum previously or if anyone here knew this, but Aniplex of America's release of Demon Slayer will not only be region locked to Region A (the second release after Kiznaiver), but it will also be geo-locked to United States, Canada and Mexico.

To those who have Region A or Region Free BD players who have ordered this, I'm not sure if the geo-lock method used for Sentai's geo-locked discs will work with AoA's release of Demon Slayer.

The RightStuf link will state the geo-locking in their product listing (it was previously phrased as Discs will not play back anywhere else):
 

NormanicGrav

(゜ロ゜)
AUKN Staff
Discotek Media has revealed their September 2020 (29th Sept) line-up, which features a license rescue from Nozomi Entertainment!

Case Closed (Detective Conan) the Movie: Zero the Enforcer (Blu-ray)
$29.95 - English & Japanese audio with English subtitles

Galaxy Express 999: Collection 3 (Blu-ray)
$69.95 - Japanese audio with English subtitles
Special Features: TV Specials 2 and 3, Vintage English Dub for Special 3, TV Series Recap Episode.

Space Adventure Cobra: Complete Series (Blu-ray)
$69.95 - Japanese audio with English subtitles
Special Features: Interview with Space Adventure Cobra Creator Buichi Terasawa, English Pilot Episode and Trailers, Brand New English Dub for Episodes 1 and 2.

Wicked City (Blu-ray)
$29.95 - English & Japanese audio with English subtitles
Special features: Storyboard to Screen Segments, Trailers, and Commentary Track With Mike Toole, and includes the English language dub by Streamline, and the UK dub.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HWR

NormanicGrav

(゜ロ゜)
AUKN Staff
Funimation Con notes for those interested:

Friday 3rd July:
Funimation Industry Panel

10:30 a.m. CT (4.30 p.m. BST) | Room 1

The Right Stuf Anime Industry Panel
12 p.m. CT (6.00 p.m. BST) | Room 2

Premiere Screening: DECA-DENCE plus interview with Japanese cast
3:30 p.m. CT (9.30 p.m. BST) | Room 2

Screening: Fire Force Season 2 SimulDub™ Premiere & Voice Actor Q&A
5 p.m. CT (11.00 p.m. BST) | Room 1

The Aniplex of America Living Room Sessions
5 p.m. CT (11.00 p.m. BST) | Room 2

Premiere Screening: By the Grace of the Gods
10:30 p.m. CT (4.30 a.m. BST) | Rooms 1 & 2

Saturday 4th July:
Aniplex Online Fest
11:30 a.m. CT (5.30 p.m. BST) | Room 2 (All Day)
- Sword Art Online Alicization War of Underworld THE LAST SEASON Online Panel
12 p.m. CT (6.00 p.m. BST)

- Sword Art Online 10th Anniversary Special Program Composer Yuki Kaijura and Music for SAO
1 p.m. CT (7.00 p.m. BST)

- Magia Record: Puella Magi Madoka Magica Side Story – Magical Talk
2 p.m. CT (8.00 p.m. BST)

- Songs and Messages from Artists Vol. 1
3 p.m. CT (9.00 p.m. BST)

- Warlords of Sigrdifa Online Panel
4 p.m. CT (10.00 p.m. BST)

- How to Make Figures
5 p.m. CT (11.00 p.m. BST)

- Aniplex of America Industry Panel
6 p.m. CT (12.00 a.m. BST)

- ANIPLEX.EXE Presents ATRI and Adabana Odd Tales Special Panel
7 p.m. CT (1.00 a.m. BST)

- SUPER HXEROS – “H”EROES SAVE THE WORLD
8 p.m. CT (2.00 a.m. BST)

- Kaguya-sama: Love is War? Special Panel
9 p.m. CT (3.00 a.m. BST)

- A-1 Pictures Special Talk Show
10 p.m. CT (4.00 a.m. BST)

- The Millionaire Detective – Balance: UNMISSABLE
11 p.m. CT (5.00 a.m. BST)

Full schedule
 
Top