Your Lie in April Part 1 Review

D

Demelza

YourLieInApril-Ltd-Ed_collector-box_3D.jpg

“Just like you said, we might not be able to turn in a performance that we can live with. But we’re going to play. So long as we have a chance to play, and an audience that will listen, I’m going to play with everything I’ve got. So that the people who’ve heard me will never forget me. So that I can live in their hearts forever. That’s my reason for existing. I’m a musician, just like you.” – Kaori Miyazono

I always find it difficult to work out how to open my reviews, and this is especially true for a series like Your Lie in April that I’m extremely fond of. It was two years ago now that I watched the first episode on Crunchyroll and instantly fell in love with it. After completing the anime, I quickly decided that the series deserved to be hailed as one of my all time favourite shows. It’s a title that I regard highly for various reasons, which I hope to convey to you throughout the course of this review.​

Your Lie in April tells the story of Kosei Arima, a former child piano prodigy who, following the death of his mother, retired as a pianist due to becoming unable to hear the piano notes he was playing. It’s worth noting that this isn’t a physiological disability, it’s just limited to his own music. Since leaving the world of music, Kosei has resigned himself to a quiet and almost bleak outlook on life. He feels like he’s drifting through his existence without a real purpose in the world.​

Your-Lie-in-April-5.png
One day Kosei’s childhood friend, Tsubaki Sawabe, invites him and Ryota Watari (another close friend of Kosei’s) to hang out so that Tsubaki can introduce Watari to a classmate of hers: Kaori Miyazono. The meeting of Kosei and Kaori will change both their fates forever and bring colour back to Kosei’s monotone world.