Space Farming

Lordhippos

Pokémon Master
Some people seemed interested in my random large storage purchase, so I wanted to provide a little insight into what I am doing. Before I go further I would highlight that I am not an expert at this so what I say is largely my own opinions, do your own research etc.

Crypto Currency

Before I go into actual space farming and what it is, I'd like to spend a bit of time talking about the crypto currency space. If you want to skip that go down and look for the Space Farming head instead.

The crypto currency markets have had a lot of traction lately, and for good reason. The crypto currency market capitalisation is presently around $2.5T - see Cryptocurrency Prices, Charts And Market Capitalizations | CoinMarketCap. Some individual currencies are worth more than entire massive global organisations. BTC is the most well known of these, I think just about everyone will know what BTC is. Suffice to say that BTC leads the market direction as the largest single entity, if it's up or down almost every crypto currency will follow it to some degree.

The market has been in a bull run generally since the tail end of last year. Will it last forever? I doubt it. Will it collapse into nothing? I also doubt it. It's hard to control or kill off a market that is de-centralised.

Personally speaking when BTC was quite low ($20 each) it was on my radar, it was hard to buy, and it was magic digital currency with very little practical usage. To be honest that is largely still true. I see BTC as very much the equivalent of a store of digital gold, it's a speculative asset that is finite, and hard to get without buying the market rate for it, and that in turn is what is driving it's value.

I think I felt originally that it was a fad, that a currency that burns electric and just exists digitally couldn't be worth much, but how wrong I was. I wish I'd just gambled on it a bit as it would have paid off exceptionally well if I had.