New to Anime. What to buy?

redneon

Completely Average High School Student
I'm fairly new to anime. I've always liked the style and I'm a huge gamer so I've been around it quit a bit, I've just never bothered to actually watch much. That's probably because I hardly watch TV, though. I tend to spend my spare time just playing games.

The only anime that I've had a lot of contact with has been Japanese games (and a lot of them). I've got a few manga movies on DVD, the obligatory Akira, Ghost in the Shell, Ninja Scrolls etc. But I've always shied away from the series' because the sheer volume of them is so daunting. Plus, each series seems to have about seven or eight DVDs, each at £15. It can be quite expensive.

I graduated from Uni and started working as a games programmer a few months ago and now I'm earning money I want to start investing in some decent anime stuff. Am I too old? I'm 24 =o) I've already bought some nice Final Fantasy and Capcom figures for my desk at work but I'm yet to watch much.

I'm sure these questions are asked a lot but I'm hoping that they wont be too annoying. Basically, I'm wondering what anime stuff to buy? One of my friends is a huge Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo fan so he's lending me his DVDs of those. I was contemplating buying the first DVD of Neon Genesis Evangelion or Full Metal Alchemist from Play. Perhaps even Trigun, because I've heard a lot of good things about that.

Also, where's the best place to buy DVDs and stuff from? I've been getting my figures from Forbidden Planet's website and www.tokyotoys.com. I would like to start reading some mangas too but the problem there is that most of them are already established and there'd be so much back story to catch up on, I imagine. Plus, I haven't got a clue where I'd buy them and if they're weekly (as I imagine) they'd be pretty hard to keep up with.