Nostalgia Thread: Manga Videos (VHS)

Kaede

Adventurer
Manga Video

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Zwb2r1vLtxM&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Zwb2r1vLtxM&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

So, whilst I'm a bit of a newbie on here, I actually first discovered anime way back in the pages of Super Play magazine, sometime in the early nineties. I kinda lost interest in anime around the time I discovered music and alcohol, and as I'm in a bit of a nostalgic mood today, I was wondering which of the early manga video releases are available to buy in one form or another on DVD.

Here are the ones I can remember (updated 10/09/09):

3x3 Eyes
AD Police
Adventure Duo
Angel Cop
Akira
Appleseed
Cyber City Oedo
Dominion Tank Police Acts 1-4
Fist of the North Star
Ghost in the Shell
Golgo13
The Guyver
The Heroic Legend of Arislan
Lensman
Macross Plus
New Dominion Tank Police 1-6
Ninja Scroll
Orguss 02
Project A-Ko
Space Adventure Cobra
Ultimate Teacher
Urotsukidoji 1 & 2
Vampire Hunter D
Venus Wars
X The Movie

There were definitely far more than this little list though.

So anyway, I'd like to know a few things:

1) Does anybody else here remember that far back?
2) Is there a website anywhere which is devoted to the old school manga video (VHS!) releases?
3) Can we complete a list of the titles that were released?
4) Which ones are available to buy on DVD today?
5) Anyone else here ever remember buying Manga Mania and AnimeUK?

Regards

K

I don't know about a devoted site that sells anime VHS but they do sell a lot of them on amazon.co.uk pretty cheap. I think you can probably pick up most of that list on DVD too and pretty cheaply again off of amazon.