My DVD drive has turned anti-R2 - Help!

Aion

Time-Traveller
I've been using my DVD drive mostly for R2 DVD's as you'd expect, putting in the occasional R1 DVD here and there. PowerDVD (or so I assumed) has been giving me a message, telling me to select the DVD region, after I started playing R1 DVD's using a program called 'DVD Region Free', and I always simply clicked the region of the DVD I was playing at the time.

To cut a long story short - I'm in the rather odd situation where my main DVD drive is now playing R1 DVD's fine (without needing any region free players/software) and not playing any R2 DVD's at all (even with region free players/software). The R2 DVD's are showing up but nothing is happened when I try to play them, PowerDVD even telling me my DVD player settings have changed...or something like that. I've tried lots of programs, including the region free MPC player, but no R2 DVD will play on my main DVD drive.

What have I done wrong this time? :/

the only thing i know is that each computer has a limited amount of times in which the region chosen can be switched, after that it sticks too the last region you chose, by the look of things R1. As for what program to use, i did hear you could use a region free player but i've never tried it out. Maybe some codecs are needed? =/

Arbalest said:
the only thing i know is that each computer has a limited amount of times in which the region chosen can be switched, after that it sticks too the last region you chose, by the look of things R1. As for what program to use, i did hear you could use a region free player but i've never tried it out. Maybe some codecs are needed? =/

Just been reading up - I've now found out (way too late) that all DVD drives offer only 4-5 region changes before locking. Mine has decided to lock at region 1, and I only have 2 (soon to be 3) anime R1 box sets...