Where do you buy your manga?

Neon-Noir

Dandy Guy, in Space
So where does everyone buy from? I use the Amazon market place, which works out at about £6 a book with postage, but it depends on the specific title. Does everyone buy over the net, or do you have a decent bookshop near where you live? Occasionally, when I’m in London I find three for two deals and such, but there's really nothing in my hometown of High Wycombe apart from a revolving stand with miscellaneous Tokyopop titles.

There isn't a secret site where it's super-cheap is there?

Play.com is usually the first place I look since delivery is free, but if they don't stock the title I want I'll wait until I have the money for a big order and head over to United Publications (that way postage is a bit more cost effective). I've pretty much stopped using Amazon; I refuse to pay £2.75 postage for a single book, and I've had some bad experiences with their free super saver delivery (specifically waiting three weeks and then finding out it's been sent back because the courier couldn't find my house).

I do keep an eye out when I go shopping, though- mainly for Gollancz titles as they're only £4.99 per book.

There's a Books Etc. in Uxbridge that usually has a very good stock (for this country anyway) and they've been very good in ordering things in I couldn't find.

Amazon.co.uk is only really useful if you're buying in bulk. Play.com annoys me because they don't have the volume numbers on the list which makes it a pain to trawl through every title that says "Gravitation" until you find the copy you want, and you still have to judge by the front covers!

But, to be perfectly honest, last year I bought a large wad of the manga I now own at Expo. 2 for £10 at the Tokyopop stand! How can anybody not take advantage of that?!

Melainy said: