1. Welcome to the new Anime UK News forums! Please view this thread for more information regarding your account and the forums. If you can't log in, your password has been blanked and will need to be reset.
    Dismiss Notice

Retro Anime Podcast - Episode 3

Discussion in 'General Anime Chit-Chat' started by orgun, Sep 7, 2016.

1. orgun

orgun Stand User

Hi Everyone,

I have been itching to do my own podcast for a few years and I have finally got round to doing it!

The Retro Anime Podcast focuses solely on anime from the 60's through to the mid 90's, the first episode reviews some well known but largely forgotten films Odin & Lensman.

The podcast can be found at the website (which is very basic at the moment) www.retroanimepodcast.com or at podomatic by searching Retro Anime Podcast.

Please have a listen and I would be interested in what you think!

Thanks,

Ian (Orgun)

Professor Irony likes this.
  2. Professor Irony

Professor Irony Za Warudo

Got a chance to sit down and listen to the episode today, definitely an interesting couple of choices for discussion.

I do know of Odin, but afraid all I've ever seen of it is the fleeting glimpse you used to get in the old Manga Video promo trailer. Was intrigued to hear that Loudness were involved with the music for it though - I liked their opening track for Mazinkaiser SKL.

With Lensman, it was mostly just the Kawajiri connection that drove me to watch it. Can't remember much about the story now, but I did think it was a good looking film and, comparing it with some of his later work, it does seem like you can sense Kawajiri's hand at work in the action sequences.

3. HdE

HdE Comic Book Guy

I really do wish somebody would get hold of Lensman and put it ut on DVD. There's a whole TV series as well, I believe.

Odin, on the other hand... that film is to me what garlic is to vampires. Nobody who values the potential to do great things with two hours of their time should ever waste it on that abomination!