Negi - Negima original 1/8 sculpt

Mr B

Student Council President
A new project and a first time sculpt for me... I've been hunting around for a kit from Negima for a while but have so far been unsuccessful in finding one, so I thought I'd make my own form modelling clay (Super Sculpy Firm) :D I've never done anything like this before and don't realy know what I'm doing (Honest :oops: )

First I picked the image of Negi that I wanted to base the figure on... Image from Vol.15 Period 130.
negi.jpg

Next I needed a basic scale drawing of Negi. The Manga's are good in that they include alot of character details. Negi for instance is 140cm high making the 1/8 figure 17.5cm. Shown here with my first attempt at his staff.
ns4.jpg

Scale drawing for his staff & sword (sword from image in Vol.15 period 136) with old staff and new staff, which is much closer in shape to the drawing. The old Staff used a plastic core over which I applied the Sculpy and Milliput. The shaped top of the staff was to thick so I made a new staff using a thinner metal core (1mm florists wire).
ns12.jpg

I'd created the drawings needed to make a start, and had all my reference books to hand.
ns13.jpg

These core pieces made from scuply are the start of the build proccess.
ns14.jpg

Once the core pieces were baked, they were drilled and pinned allowing me to get the correct pose on the figure. I then added the feet, a quick tinker so it would stand up, then filled between the joints and baked once more to set the position.
ns15.jpg

I've now started to bulk out the body, trying to include the more prominent muscles with out over doing it. A bit more work on the upper back is required to highlight the shoulder blades.
ns16.jpg

Negi is skinny but very active, so I'm trying for a slim, yet toned look.
ns17.jpg

His legs might be to far appart, but I don't want to start cutting bits off untill I have too.
ns18.jpg

Paul.