Magic: The Gathering

ilmaestro

State Alchemist
At the request of BW, here is a dedicated MTG thread.

I started reading up on MTG just over two months ago, not long before the M13 pre-release, but between work commitments and holidays I've only played in three events - the sealed deck pre-release, one M13 draft, and one Standard FNM this past week. As much reading up on cards and watching of other people's drafts as you can do, it's been pretty tough to pick up without being able to play much.

Overall though, I love every aspect of Magic. Card art, flavor (on this front I think I started playing at a great time - Innistrad followed up by Ravnica seems to be some of the flavoriest flavor that WotC have ever done), watching drafts, watching Modern, the decision making involved in actually playing (in this regard I guess the one thing I don't love is straight-up combo decks)... just one of the most robust games I've ever come across.

I've currently got/am working on getting three Standard decks:

"Mono"-Blue Mill (needs perfect draw to be fast enough for current Standard, but fun in theory)
UWr Delver Control (needs little explanation)
Mono-White Humans (am thinking about splashing Green here at some stage for Gavony Township and Rancor)

I think the Humans deck is theoretically strong atm thanks to running Thalia to slow down ramp or control for one or two key turns, and gum up Delver who wants to play few lands but still be able to play Mana Leak/"free" Phyrexian spells often.

I would also like to put together a BRw Vampire deck, but I a) only have a couple of the main cards I want, and only in singles b) am not sure this is even an idea I can put together "properly".

At heart I think UW Control is my favorite general strategy, so I will probably be looking to play Azorius when Ravnica returns, but roughly anything involving Blue can interest me, so Dimir and Izzet are definitely on the table too.