Jury Duty

MaxonTreik

Chuunibyou
I just got a letter in the post which was a "Notice of Selection for Potential Jury Service". I've never done it before so this was a bit of a surprise, though I did know it would happen one day.

Has anyone done jury duty before? What was your experience like? Is there anything to keep in mind?

Answers from fellow Scots would be preferable due to some laws up here being a little different but answers from anyone who has experienced it are welcome.

I haven't done it before, but here's some advice: Do not talk about the case at all outside of jury duty. Don't bring it up with friends, family and definitely do not do what one woman did and post details of the case on Facebook to ask you friends to help you choose your verdict.
I highly doubt you won't abide by confidentiality, but just thought I'd put it out there just in case.

Oh and don't sleep with the defendant either. Pretty sure I read about someone doing that once too.

No advice for you I'm afraid Maxon - My uncle did jury duty a few years back and said it wasn't a nice experience at all, but it was a pretty heavy case I think. Probably easier if it's theft or fraud, but details of rape or murder can't be much fun to listen to with the alleged victims and perpetrators in the room.

I would make a terrible juror, due to not really believing in the legitimacy of our justice system. I wonder if that's a valid get-out clause?

animefreak17 said:
I think my dad did it before meeting my mum.
What was it like for him?

Joshawott said:
I haven't done it before, but here's some advice: Do not talk about the case at all outside of jury duty. Don't bring it up with friends, family and definitely do not do what one woman did and post details of the case on Facebook to ask you friends to help you choose your verdict.
I highly doubt you won't abide by confidentiality, but just thought I'd put it out there just in case.