Is anime inaccessible for those on lower income?

I thought that this would be a great topic to open up some debate.

I'm a mature student of nearly 30 years of age, I have a part-time job, pay extortionate rent etc. In other words, I am pretty poor as my income is extremely limited and most goes on my rent (such is life).

When I first joined this forum, downloading was not fast and streaming was non-existent. Now, there are a wealth of anime you can find online through services such as Crunchyroll, Netflix, Hulu etc. These require an internet connection and those who may not be able to afford good internet may struggle to see anime. The cheapest internet is not unlimited and students on university campus (from what I hear) cannot stream services like Netflix so they have to find other means.

Anime is very much a middle-class product. I can say this as I have observed affluent students join these clubs and think nothing of dropping £80 on a figurine or £50 for a 13 episode series. To join in these debates you have to be up to date with the latest anime. Of course this is not limited to students - this disparity can be applied to the general population.

I'm putting forward the view that only is anime expensive, it is only readily available for those with disposable income. If you are on low income and like anime, it has to pretty much your only hobby. Merchandise, figurines, conventions and cosplay are outwith the poor person's means. Yes I know, jobs are available. But how accessible is anime for those on the poorest disposable income bracket? Probably not very much. Legal streaming is the way forward but unlimited internet is at least £25 per month, plus access to a pc/laptop plus subscription can all add up. Anime is almost always set at a premium (just look at those second hand prices for example for some series).