Creating a Manga/Graphic Novel

Voddas

Symphogear
Hyperthetically speaking, if I was wanting to create a Manga or graphic novel, what would be the best techniques to use in your opinions?

Lets say the story itself has been completed and now it's time to put it onto paper. How much would be done using pens/pencils etc. and how much would be done using a computer (if any at all)? Also, if you would use a computer, what programs would you suggest using?

Maybe you'd draw the outlines firstly, then scan and shade in using a program? Being a novice, I would have no idea where to start. =P

You can do it all by computer, pick up a tablet and some software. s'good. plus CTRL+Z is far more effective than a rubber. no?

I have Manga studio 4, it's good.

Makes sense, only it's been a ball ache to find a decent tablet PC. All laptops are turning touchscreen instead. Plus I have like £480 worth of vouchers for amazon and they don't appear to sell them.

Thanks for the suggestion. Simple and smart.

Long answer: eh, I'd say it depends what kind of story you've got in mind.

If you're making fairly short comics and you can work out some means of tracing things (I use a sheet of clear perspex with an angle lamp behind it), then you could do it without a computer at all. It can take a lot longer and its harder to experiment as you go along, but it's by no means impossible. If you've got a pc and a scanner, you can still add colours or screentone as well.

Of course, you can save a lot of time by going digital. As Kirrimir says, being able to hit 'undo' when it all goes wrong is invaluable. Added to that, the scope for experimenting and creating effects you'd never have thought of otherwise is staggering. If you're planning something longer and more involved, this is probably the way to do it nowadays.